البيئة والمياه

تحولت القمامة البحرية إلى مشكلة تلوث رئيسية تؤثر على كل بحار العالم، وينشأ ازدياد مستويات القمامة البحرية إلى حد كبير من أنشطة برية (~80%)، ويشمل هذا بالأخص الإدارة غير الكافية للنفايات الصلبة الحضرية (الجمع والنقل والمعالجة والتخلص النهائي) والآثار السلبية على الصحية البشرية والحياة البحرية والنظم الإيكولوجية البحرية ونوعية الشواطئ والسلامة الملاحية فضلاً عن الصيد والصناعات البحرية....

يعاني معظم البلدان في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا من إجهاد مائي مزمن يفاقمه النمو السكاني وتأثيرات تغير المناخ. لكن هذا الشح في المياه ليس نتاج نقص مادي في المياه فحسب، بل يرتبط أيضاً بغياب هياكل الإدارة الجيدة، وارتفاع الطلب على المياه، وتدني مستويات الثقة بين مختلف الأطراف التي تشترك في المورد المائي الواحد، ومحدودية الآليات المؤسسية لتطبيق مبادئ الإدارة المتكاملة للموارد المائية في المنطقة....

من خلال برنامج لبناء القدرات وبرنامج للمنح الصغيرة، سيُمكّن المشروع المنظمات غير الحكومية من اكتساب المهارات في مجالات متنوعة من التنمية المستدامة بما فيها الأراضي الرطبة وإدارة الطلب على المياه/فعالية استعمال المياه/إدارة موارد المياه عبر الحدود والتعليم والوعي البيئي بالإضافة إلى النفايات البحرية. وسيتم تنفيذ المشروع في كل من ألبانيا والجزائر ولبنان والمغرب وتونس....

يهدف المشروع وعلى مدى فترة أولية تستغرق أربع سنوات إلى العمل بنشاط على تعزيز اعتماد أنماط الاستهلاك والإنتاج المستدامين بمنطقة البحر الأبيض المتوسط من خلال مقاربة إقليمية شاملة لمواجهة مختلف الحقائق والتحديات التي تواجهها بلدان البحر الأبيض المتوسط. وبصفة أدق، يهدف هذا المشروع إلى إتاحة الوصول للتمويل للشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة الحجم (SMEs) التي تتبنى نماذج من الاستهلاك والإنتاج المستدامين (SCP) بمصر والأردن والمغرب وتونس. كما سيحفز المشروع تنمية الصناعات...

سيساهم مشروع “نحو منصة معرفية متوسطية للمياه”، بميزانيته التي تبلغ 9.525 مليون يورو،  من ناحية في تحسين  الحوار وعمليات التخطيط وجعل المعلومات متاحة على نحو أسهل لأصحاب المصلحة المعنيين. ومن ناحية أخرى، فمن المرجح أن تتمخض البنية التحتية للبيانات التي يوفرها المشروع (أنظمة المعلومات الوطنية للمياه) عن خدمات ذات قيمة مضافة وبالتالي تساهم في النمو المستدام في بلدان البحر المتوسط وتشجع الاستثمار في المنطقة....

تقع بحيرة بنزرت شمال تونس وهي متصلة بالبحر الأبيض المتوسط وقريبة جداً من محميات طبيعية في البر (الحديقة الوطنية بإشكل) وفي البحر (محميتا الرأس الأبيض ورأس سيراط البحريتان)، ومن المتعارف عليه منذ أكثر من عقد من الزمان أنها بقعة تلوث بحري ذات تأثير إقليمي، وقد وُضعت على رأس أولويات الحكومة التونسية لإزالة التلوث وفي إطار مبادرة أفق 2020 لإزالة التلوث من البحر الأبيض المتوسط....

Water & Environment

Marine litter has become a major pollution problem affecting all of the world seas. Increased levels of marine litter originate largely from land based activities (~80%). This includes, in particular, inadequate urban solid waste management (collection, transportation, treatment and final disposal) negative impacts on human health, marine wildlife, marine ecological systems, beach quality, and navigational safety as well as fishing and maritime industries.

According to the European Environmental Agency (EEA), the average amount of municipal solid waste produced in the EU is 520 kg per...

© EU/Neighbourhood Info Centre
Most countries in the MENA region are chronically water stressed, a situation exacerbated by the impacts of population growth and climate change. This water scarcity is a result not only of physical water shortage, but also of a lack of good governance structures, high water demand, low levels of trust between different parties sharing the same water resource and limited institutional mechanisms for applying integrated water resource management principles in the region.

In particular, the project aims to:

  • Act on the regional level, increasing dialogue and ...

Through a capacity building programme and a small grants scheme, the project will enable NGOs to acquire skills in various areas of sustainable development including wetlands, water demand management/water use efficiency/trans-boundary water resources management, environmental education and awareness as well as marine litter. The project will be implemented in Albania, Algeria, Lebanon, Morocco and Tunisia.

With a budget of €3,300,000 over a course of 3 years, the project will mainly benefit local, regional and national CSOs. Throughout the process, the relevant public authorities will be c...

Over the course of an initial 4-year period, the project aims to actively support the adoption of sustainable consumption and production patterns in the Mediterranean region through a comprehensive regional approach addressing different realities and challenges faced by the Mediterranean countries. More concretely, the project aims to provide financing access for Small and Medium sized Enterprises (SMEs) adopting Sustainable Consumption and Production (SCP) models in Egypt, Jordan, Morocco and Tunisia. It will also stimulate the development of green industries and entrepreneurship in the...

© EU/Neighbourhood Info Centre
With a budget of €9.525 million, the project “Towards a Mediterranean Water Knowledge Platform” will contribute on the one hand to improving dialogue and planning processes and making information more easily available to involved stakeholders. On the other, data infrastructure provided by the project (National Water Information Systems – NWIS) is likely to generate added-valued services and thus contribute to sustainable growth in the Mediterranean countries and promote investment in the region.

Overall, the Mediterranean Water Knowledge Platform proj...

Connected to the Mediterranean Sea and located in close proximity to natural reserves on land (Ichkeul Park) and in the sea (Marine Protected Areas of Cap Blanc and Cap Serrat) this northern Tunisian lake has been widely accepted for over a decade to be a marine pollution of regional impact and has been placed at the top of the depollution priorities of the Tunisian government and within the framework of the Euro-Mediterranean initiative Horizon 2020.

In view to contributing to the sustainable protection of the Mediterranean Sea, the Integrated Programme for Protection of the Lake Bizerte...