Organigram EN_11.05

The Co-Presidency

The governance of the Union for the Mediterranean is established through a process designed to ensure co-ownership of the decisions and shared responsibility by the Northern and Southern Mediterranean countries. The UfM is chaired by a co-presidency shared between the two shores. Since 2012, it is assumed by the European Union on the Northern side, ensuring a close link with the European Neighbourhood Policy, and by Jordan on the Southern side, allowing its full appropriation by the Southern countries. The co-presidency applies to all levels: summits, ministerial meetings, and officials’ level meetings.

Senior Officials’ Meeting (SOM)

The members of the Union for the Mediterranean meet on a regular basis at the level of Senior Officials from the Ministries of Foreign Affairs of the 43 UfM countries, EU institutions and the League of Arab States. The Senior Officials Meetings (SOM) provide the framework to discuss the current political context and coordinate the work of the UfM Secretariat. They approve the budget and work programme of the Secretariat and set the basis to prepare the Ministerial Meetings. They also discuss the project proposals submitted for approval and endorsement. The Senior Officials take decisions by consensus.

Secretariat of the Union for the Mediterranean

The Secretariat of the Union for the Mediterranean is headed by a Secretary General together with six Deputy Secretary Generals. The UfM Secretariat comprises 60 staff members (diplomats, financial and technical experts as well as project managers) from 20 countries in the region, and representatives from the European Commission and international financial institutions, namely the European Investment Bank, the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development and Caisse des Depôts.