الخلفية

تأسس الاتحاد من أجل المتوسط على أيدي 43 رئيس دولة وحكومة أورومتوسطية في 13 يوليو/تموز 2008 وذلك أثناء قمة باريس من أجل المتوسط. وقد دُشن الاتحاد كامتداد للشراكة الأورومتوسطية، المعروفة أيضاً باسم عملية برشلونة، التي تأسست في عام 1995.

وأنشئت الأمانة العامة للاتحاد من أجل المتوسط بقرار من رؤساء دول وحكومات الاتحادفي 4 نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني 2008 في مرسيليا، واعتُمد نظامها الأساسي في 3 مارس/آذار 2010 بقرار من كبار مسؤولي البلدان الأعضاء في الاتحاد. وفي 4 مايو/أيار 2010 وُقّع اتفاق مقر بين الاتحاد من أجل المتوسط والحكومة الإسبانية منح الأمانة العامة الامتيازات والحصانات التي تتمتع بها المنظمات الدولية بموجب القانون الإسباني.

يشكّل الاتحاد من أجل المتوسط إطاراً للعلاقات السياسية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية بين الاتحاد الأوروبي وبلدان جنوب وشرق المتوسط، وهو مستوحى من الأهداف المنصوص عليها في إعلان برشلونة، وهي تحديداً العمل على إنشاء منطقة للسلام والاستقرار والأمن والازدهار الاقتصادي المشترك، والاحترام الكامل للمبادئ الديمقراطية وحقوق الإنسان والحريات الأساسية، وتشجيع التفاهم بين الثقافات والحضارات في المنطقة الأورومتوسطية.

معالم بارزة

milestones AR

الأمناء العموم للاتحاد من أجل المتوسط

  • أحمد مساعدة              مارس/آذار 2010 - فبراير/شباط 2011
  • يوسف العمراني          يوليو/تموز 2011 - يناير/كانون الثاني 2012
  • فتح الله السجلماسي          مارس/آذار 2012 - حتى الآن

الوثائق المؤسسية

History

The Union for the Mediterranean (UfM) was created by 43 Euro-Mediterranean Heads of State and Government on 13 July 2008 at the Paris Summit for the Mediterranean. It was launched as a continuation of the Euro-Mediterranean Partnership (Euro-Med), also known as the Barcelona Process, which was established in 1995.

The Secretariat of the Union for the Mediterranean was created by a decision of the UfM Heads of State and Government on 4 November 2008 in Marseille. The UfM Secretariat’s Statutes were adopted on 3 March 2010 by a decision of the Senior Officials of the UfM Member States. A headquarters agreement was signed between the UfM and the Government of Spain on 4 May 2010, granting the Secretariat the privileges and immunities of an international organisation under Spanish law.

The UfM constitutes a framework for political, economic and social relations between the European Union and the Southern and Eastern Mediterranean countries and is inspired by the goals set out in the Barcelona Declaration, namely working towards the creation of an area of peace, stability, security and shared economic prosperity, as well as full respect for democratic principles, human rights and fundamental freedoms and promotion of understanding between cultures and civilizations in the Euro-Mediterranean region.

MILESTONES

Milestones EN_13.05

SECRETARY GENERALS OF THE UNION FOR THE MEDITERRANEAN

  • Ahmad Masa'deh              March 2010 - February 2011
  • Youssef Amrani                July 2011 - January 2012
  • Fathallah Sijilmassi          March 2012 - present

Institutional documents